3D Paintings

Visual Reprise: 3D Paintings by Shintaro Ohata. 

Talk about innovative! Japanese artist Shinaro Ohata combines his paintings with his perfectly matching sculptures. He literally brings his 2D pieces to life. I love how the way he sculpted his pieces compliments the way he painted so well.

My personal favorites are the blue and pink ones, though I love the color scheme of the yellow/gold one. As a self-taught artist (my parents didn’t let me take art classes so that I would’t pursue being a starving artist), I’ve always wanted to create something with my hands the way you do with sculpting, painting, drawing. I love how that philosophy resonates in Ohata’s work. I also very much enjoyed the whimsical, Japanese girl sentiment revolving these pieces.

Leave a Reply

