Daily Dose of Reading

Here we go again! That time when I share all the (online) things I’ve been reading. 

The Best Birth Control in the World is for Men: When I began looking into birth control, I was appalled to discover that really, birth control is a “woman’s” problem! We’ve got IUDs, Implanon, daily hormone shots, pills, etc… And for guys? Condoms and vasectomy. It was infuriating and made me feel that getting pregnant was a woman’s issue. The guy just has to remember to be sorta responsible and supply condoms, but girls have to endure all this other crap to really feel secure. Well, guess what? The best birth control in the world is for men! I know! Spread the word! But no one knows about this and no one in America (to my knowledge) has it. Why? Maybe because guys are terrified of having anything close to their nether regions. Well guess what? Women undergo procedures to have IUDs, and those aren’t even as effective and/or easy as this procedure for men! Seriously, spread the word. It even fights HIV!

Gay Men and Christian Wombs: Surrogacy’s New Frontier: I thought this was fascinating mostly because I’m not Christian and it never even occurred to me that Christian women would decide whether it was moral to help give birth for a gay couple. Also, the thought of being driven out of a town because you might do that? Crazy.

So I don’t know how many of you follow the HBO show Girls, but it has certainly made quite a name for itself for its awkward sex scenes and nudity. But it’s not just any nudity – it’s “real” girls nudity. Lena Dunham, the writer and actress, isn’t afraid of taking off her clothes in front of the camera. There’s been a lot of backlash for it, however. Why does she keep making us see her naked body when she’s not stereotypically thin? Well, I just love this xojane article in response to this: The Audacity of Lena Dunham, And Her Admirable Commitment To Making Us Look At Her Naked. (FYI, I might blog about Girls in the future.)

This made me smile: How 19-year-old Activist Zack Kopplin is Making Life Hell for Louisiana’s Creationalists. I think the title speaks for itself, but I seriously admire Kopplin’s efforts. After all, many of us might feel strongly about something, but we don’t often do something about it. I applaud Kopplin for taking a stand!

The High Price of Being Single in America (for a woman): The was kind of an eye-opener, just because of the financial implications of being single. That being said, some of their math is shaky, but they do disclaim themselves. Overall, it does convince me that America does “punish” the unwed in certain ways.

2 thoughts on “Daily Dose of Reading

  1. Mjollnir says:

    Darling, don’t be so cruel. When I was fifteen I stuck my goolies in the microwave – no problem! No complaints ever since although I have to admit one or two of your sex did try entrapment – innocents you ain’t!!!!! Hahahahaaha 🙂

    Like

    • Alice L says:

      Haha, I guess I should cut you guys some slack. It was just shocking to me that there was almost no real available birth control for men! And then it turns out, it’s the best kind of birth control – zero risk of unwanted pregnancies. That’s pretty crazy safe.

      Like

Leave a comment